Hey there folks! Okay, it’s been a while since I posted a sketch of the day. So here’s a treat, 3 sketches at once! While I was working on some other stuff, I felt the need to draw some comic book art.

That got me to thinking how fascinated I’ve always been with Marvel’s Dr. Strange. Even though I never really followed the character (outside of reading one of those pocket-sized compilation graphic novels at the public library), the scripting of a broken man being given a second chance at life was always a powerful storyline, even to a 7 year old boy like me. It’s a good thing that the 1978 TV movie didn’t completely turn me away from this particular comic book character (for those of you that haven’t seen it, breathe a sigh of relief ).

I also decided to try to update Strange’s costume. It’s the big thing these days isn’t it, to REBOOT everything known to man! However, I have to say that Dr. Strange’s garb is probably the one that needs the most redesigning.

As you can see from the photo, I actually sketched these out on a note pad with a cheap ball-point pen (and uh, some liquid paper). Can you say “old school”? 😉 There’s nothing like being able to feel every nuance of the paper and pen under my fingers. I don’t think any amount of technology will ever simulate it.

Now, I’m hoping that over the next while I can paint these sketches up with a little colour for some flair! So, stay tuned!

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. Hi John. Good sketches. Can’t wait for them to be coloured. Yeah, still can’t get the cheesiness of the TV movie outta my head. Especially the hideous purple garb. UGH!
    I also tweeted this entry on Twitter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Art, Drawing, Illustrations, Sketches

Tags

, , ,