Okay, so this wasn’t done in a day. I worked on this piece over 3 days, a couple of hours each day.

I flashed back to my childhood and all the sci-fi stories I had read and watched. In particular, The Micronauts (aka Microman), Machine Man, Tron and the novel The Silver Metal Lover by Tanith Lee inspired this work.

I also wanted to experiment with developing details through shadow work. This is much like the process of subtractive sculpting I learned in high school – letting the art grow out of the medium.

This drawing was sketched out in Autodesk Sketchbook and Adobe Photoshop (the usual suspects).

Join the conversation! 4 Comments

  1. That’s nice. The face is Kirby-esque. It’s almost that time (for Tron: Legacy).

    Reply
  2. That’s a cool sketch! It’s like two of Geekdom’s most wanted collided with each other and formed a new bit of awesomeness! 🙂

    Geek #1 – You got some Micronauts in my Tron!
    Geek #2 – Well you got some of your Tron in my Micronauts!
    Geek #1 & 2 in unison – Wow, two great toys in one!

    Reply
  3. Ahh.. So nice to have all of the Lei Family Nerds under one roof, again!! heh
    Just kidding.. Very nice illo, John!

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the comments! I have been feeling nerdy lately; I hope it’s not a trend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Art, Drawing, Illustrations, Sketches

Tags

, , , , , , ,